The brand new soundtrack for Disney’s “The Little Mermaid,” is available now at Apple Music, Spotify, Amazon Music and on CD. The vinyl is available for pre-order at Disney Music Emporium and is set for release on May 26. The “Part of Your World” visualizer video can be seen on YouTube. “The Little Mermaid,” visionary filmmaker Rob Marshall’s live-action reimagining of the studio’s Oscar®-winning animated musical classic, opens exclusively in theaters nationwide May 26, 2023. The songs feature music from Alan Menken and lyrics by Howard Ashman, with new lyrics by Lin-Manuel Miranda.

Director/producer Rob Marshall says, “Alan Menken and Lin-Manuel Miranda have written three thrilling new songs and one new reprise for this film, which is kind of amazing. It’s extraordinary actually.” He continues, “I had always wanted to work with Alan, but somehow our paths never crossed. This time they luckily did. And what a joy it was to collaborate with Alan on not only a completely new film score, but also these spectacular new songs. Of course, the idea of moving forward without the late great Howard Ashman was daunting to say the least, but we were fortunate to have my dear and brilliant friend Lin step in as lyricist, with his great respect and love for Howard and the original score.”

The film features three new songs and a new reprise from Menken and Miranda, which include “Wild Unchartered Waters,” performed by Eric; “For the First Time,” performed by Ariel; “The Scuttlebutt” performed by Scuttle and Sebastian, and an additional reprise of “Part of Your World,” for Ariel.

Watch the new music featurette here

The Little Mermaid Original Motion Picture Soundtrack track list follows:

1.  “Triton’s Kingdom” Score

2.  “Part of Your World” Performed by Halle Bailey

3.  Fathoms Below Performed by Jonah Hauer-King, John Dagleish, Christopher Fairbank, andEnsemble

4.  “Part of Your World” (Reprise) Performed by Halle Bailey

5.  “Under the Sea” Performed by Daveed Diggs andCast

6.  “Wild Uncharted Waters” Performed by Jonah Hauer-King

7.  “Poor Unfortunate Souls” Performed by Melissa McCarthy

8.  “For the First Time” Performed by Halle Bailey

9.  “Kiss the Girl” Performed by Daveed Diggs, Awkwafina, Jacob Tremblay and Ensemble

10.  “The Scuttlebutt” Performed by Awkwafina andDaveed Diggs

11.  “Eric’s Decision” Score

12.  “Vanessa’s Trick” Score

13.  “Part of Your World” (Reprise II) Performed by Halle Bailey

14.  “Kiss the Girl” (Island Band Reprise) Score

15.  “Finale” Score

“The Little Mermaid” is the beloved story of Ariel, a beautiful and spirited young mermaid with a thirst for adventure. The youngest of King Triton’s daughters and the most defiant, Ariel longs to find out more about the world beyond the sea and, while visiting the surface, falls for the dashing Prince Eric. While mermaids are forbidden to interact with humans, Ariel must follow her heart. She makes a deal with the evil sea witch, Ursula, which gives her a chance to experience life on land but ultimately places her life – and her father’s crown – in jeopardy.

The film stars singer and actress Halle Bailey (“grown-ish”) as Ariel; Jonah Hauer-King (“A Dog’s Way Home”) as Prince Eric; Tony Award® winner Daveed Diggs (“Hamilton,” “Snowpiercer”) as the voice of Sebastian; Awkwafina (“Raya and the Last Dragon”) as the voice of Scuttle; Jacob Tremblay (“Luca,” “Room”) as the voice of Flounder; Noma Dumezweni (“Mary Poppins Returns”) as The Queen; Art Malik (“Homeland”) as Sir Grimsby; with Oscar® winner Javier Bardem (“No Country for Old Men,” “Being the Ricardos”) as King Triton; and two-time Academy Award® nominee Melissa McCarthy (“Can You Ever Forgive Me?” “Bridesmaids”) as Ursula.

“The Little Mermaid” is directed by Oscar® nominee Rob Marshall (“Chicago,” “Mary Poppins Returns”), and produced by two-time Emmy® winner Marc Platt (“Jesus Christ Superstar Live in Concert,” “Grease Live!”), three-time Tony Award® winner Lin-Manuel Miranda (“Hamilton,” “In the Heights”), Emmy winner John DeLuca (“Tony Bennett: An American Classic”), and Rob Marshall, with Jeffrey Silver (“The Lion King”) serving as executive producer. The songs feature music from multiple Academy Award® winner Alan Menken (“Beauty and the Beast,” “Aladdin”) and lyrics by Howard Ashman, who together won two Oscars for the music in the animated “The Little Mermaid,” and new lyrics by Lin-Manuel Miranda. The score is by Alan Menken, with music supervised and produced by Mike Higham (“Mary Poppins Returns,” “Into the Woods”).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Carve Africa